The emissions reduction commitments made by 195 countries at the COP 21 Paris Agreement, are not sufficient to limit global warming to 1.5 °C. 


To reach the 1.5 °C ambition it is estimated that additional emissions reductions of 15 billion tonnes CO2 e per year need to be made by 2030. Circle Economy and Ecofys estimate that circular strategies may deliver emissions reductions that could basically bridge the gap by half.


Circle Economy and Ecofys have issued this white paper that informs on key strategies to move to a circular state. It also highlights existing circular examples in the world today.


This white paper will form part of a further comprehensive analysis of the new climate agreement and targets and circular economy’s contribution to the same. The white paper and initiative were launched in June at The Business & Climate Summit in London where institutional business and climate leaders are working together to deliver real climate action.

Circular Economy: 

A key lever in bridging the emissions gap to a 1.5 °C pathway

Download the White Paper Now

Please enter your contact information below

Authors

Andy Ridley

CEO 

Circle Economy

Andy@circle-economy.com

Shyaam Ramkumar 

Knowledge and Innovation Manager 

Circle Economy

Shyaam@circle-economy.com

Marc de Wit 

Director of Strategic Alliances

Circle Economy

Marc@circle-economy.com

Jelmer Hoogzaad 

Associate

Circle Economy

Jelmer@circle-economy.com

Kornelis Blok

Founder & Director of Science

Ecofys

K.Blok@ecofys.com

Preeti Srivastav

Director Corporate Climate Action

Ecofys

P.Srivastav@Ecofys.com

Irina Tan

Analyst Sustainable Industries & Services

Ecofys

I.Tan@Ecofys.com



Wouter Terlouw

Consultant

Ecofys

W.Terlouw@Ecofys.com

Find out how the circular economy can reduce climate change